Board of Directors & Staff

Our Leaders

The Stillwater Medical Foundation's Board of Directors is charged with advancing the Foundation's mission, stewarding its gifts and assets, and fulfilling the Foundation's strategic priorities.

Foundation Board 2023

2023 Board of Directors and Staff

From Right: Whitney Johnson, Michal Shaw, Carrie Wilhelm, Babette Goodwin, Jeffery Corbett, David Lambert, Diana Rodriguez Coca, Scott Jones, Amy Gallegos, Steve Ruby, Meredith Woodruff, Andrea Bendele, Lucas Grounds, Lee Bird, Polly Crawley, Staci Bejcek, Shayna Paden, Matt Streeter, Joe Akin, Laura Aufleger, Rachel Ebert Leslie

Not Pictured: Jennifer Glenn, John Wedlake, MD and Denise Webber

The Foundation Team

Michal Shaw, Executive Director

Michal Shaw

Executive Director

Michal Shaw joined the Foundation in October of 2021. She has over seventeen years of experience in higher education fundraising and was instrumental in developing stewardship and donor engagement programs during her time at the Oklahoma State University Foundation.

Shaw began her career in philanthropy in 2002 at National Geographic’s Education Foundation in Washington, D.C. Michal is a Past-President for the Association of Donor Relations Professionals (ADRP) and is a current member of the Association for Healthcare Philanthropy (AHP). Michal holds a B.S. and M.S. in Geography from Oklahoma State University.

Michal and her husband, Wade, enjoy spending time with their three children, being outdoors, and traveling.

Jeffery Corbett

Jeffery Corbett

Sr Director of Volunteer Engagement & Foundation Programs

Jeffery Corbett has been with the Foundation since 1997. In October 2022, he became director of the Volunteer Program at Stillwater Medical. His goal is to grow the group back to pre-pandemic levels and to expand the program's service areas.

Corbett oversees the Foundation's educational, scholarship, and high school fellowship programs. He also assists in planning special events and fundraising appeals.

A passionate advocate for public education, Corbett is a past state president of Oklahoma PTA and served on the National PTA Board of Directors from 2018-2022.

Jeffery is engaged in the community as president of the Stillwater Interfaith Counseling Center's Board. He also serves as an ambassador for the Chamber of Commerce and volunteers for Karman Legacy Hospice.

Rachel Leslie Dir of Comm & Mktg

Rachel Ebert Leslie

Director of Marketing & Communications

Rachel Ebert Leslie joined the Foundation in 2022 and brings over 17 years of professional experience in marketing after earning a degree in Graphic Art from Oklahoma State.

She is a Stillwater native, and grew up spending a lot of time at Stillwater Medical while her father, Mark Ebert, MD worked for 30 years as an OB/GYN.

After the death of daughter, Audrey, in 2014, Rachel's passion for telling stories of healthcare and philanthropy deepened. 

Rachel is married to high school sweetheart and local dentist, Chris Leslie. Together, they are raising Cooper and Emma.  


Carrie Wilhelm

Accounting Manager

Carrie joined the SMF team in 2023 and brings a wealth of experience in accounting management and financial analyzing. Carrie's work within non-profit organizations further elevates how she makes an impact at SMF.

Her degree from OSU in Accounting was put to good use and she spent the last 11 years at the OSU Foundation. Carrie enjoys serving others and has served on the Wings of Hope Board along with being the current President of Women's Fellowship Group at First Christian Church of Cushing, where her husband is the pastor. Together they have one son, Noah.

Joe ForWeb

Joe Akin

Sr. Director of Development & Community Outreach

Joe has extensive experience in relationship building and community engagement. Joe started at Stillwater Medical in the height of the pandemic and has been leading the HR team since. In his new role, Joe will help strengthen communication and further align the Foundation’s efforts to improve healthcare. 

Joe has lived in Stillwater for 39 years. He and his wife, Mona, raised two sons who both live in the Oklahoma City area. Outside of work, Joe enjoys time with his family and friends, traveling with Mona, and fishing. Prior to his career at Stillwater Medical, Joe served on the Foundation Board of Directors for 7 years and has been active as a donor.